Inquiry Project Post #3: Quotes From a Sioux Indian Chief

10 Quotes From a Sioux Indian Chief That Will Make You Question Everything About Our Society

indian.jpg.pagespeed.ce.4js8v-f9WO As I am continuing research for my inquiry project, I came across an article the other day that I found very intriguing because it had so many meaningful quotes that I really wanted to explore. I would absolutely want to try to implement these ways of knowing in my future classroom. I speak of personal experience when I say that so much of our Canadian history was hidden from me growing up, and only exposed to the typical stereotypes. As an educated adult, I now realize how detrimental this was to my generation because I know that it is a very common issue. Knowledge is power! It is so crucial to be able to teach my students as many aspects of the Aboriginal ways of knowing, instead of the perceived version that they are most likely to be exposed to from home life or frequently found in our society. Again, informing my students about history and how it affects our Canadian background is essential to breaking these harmful prejudices.

 “Conversation was never begun at once, or in a hurried manner.”

One of the biggest challenges I have been finding lately is one that relates to technology, because it is something that makes conversations and relationships meaningless at certain times. I think this is directly related to the above quote. Isn’t technology the most hurried manner of conversation there is?  I am absolutely guilty of this myself in so many different situations. Being in a classroom daily for the past few weeks I see how much technology has taken over all aspects of adolescent lives. The students are always, constantly on their phones. I haven’t been around young people in that extent for a long time, so I have never realized until recently how intensely students use their phones. Even after warnings and confiscating cellphones/iPads, they are still constantly using their technology. It is an addiction and as if they can’t be without. The only day I watched two students in my class one row over text each other instead of talking to each other. I thought to myself, “How sad is that”. The social skills that this generation will lack are outstanding.

“Children were taught that true politeness was to be defined in actions rather than in words.”

 Relating to the above paragraph about lack of social skills, I agree with this quote that all actions need to be felt, not just said. There are so many meaningful messages behind this, because so often in our society, there are countless thoughtless actions.  If we were to teach students some of these valuable lessons then maybe we would be able to decrease this and make our country a better place. Something else I have been learning a lot about in our internship is that students really do see us teachers as role models so if we can model compassion, then that can go miles and will hopefully one day make a difference in the challenges that our people of Canada are facing.

“Earth was bountiful and we were surrounded with the blessings of the Great Mystery”.

wilderness.jpg.pagespeed.ce.pcqg2xJFT8Respecting the earth is not something that is just a passionate hobby to some people – it is an absolute necessity. So often, the earth and its beautiful nature are not respected, as it should be. I believe this is partly because this necessity is not taught to children as well as it should be. It goes back to the lack of meaningful conversations because of the advancement of technologies. Are we spending enough time appreciating the amazing landscapes we are surrounded with in Canada? Do we take care of our land as well as the land takes care of us? Would we still be alive without the selflessness of Earth?

“It filled his being with the joy and mystery of living; it gave him reverence for all life; it made a place for all things in the scheme of existence with equal importance to all”.

One of the most ironic messages from this article is that every one is equal. It seems so obvious right? However, that doesn’t mean it is true, especially in Canada. This quote should be dissected with great detail because it is one of the most important life lessons – everyone and everything is equal. There is no one better and no one beneath you. Everyone deserves love. What an amazing lesson to learn that regardless of race, gender, age, beliefs, that every single human is equal.

All of these quotes make for deeper meaning about almost all aspects of life. It is especially important to know the fact that there are so many different points of view and traditions. We all have our own traditions that we celebrate with our own families and friends, and we need to realize that there are other important aspects to the Aboriginal ways of knowing.  This article is a small aspect of how certain groups of people view their lives and as Canadians we need to be open to all aspects of our historical traditions in order to hopefully one day find reconciliation and some sort of peace in our society.

Leave a Reply

