Lesson Plan Revisions

I chose my lesson about stereotyping and discrimination to revise because I learned a lot after I taught it. As I mentioned before in my original reflection after teaching this lesson, this was a pretty heavy lesson to try to teach in one class because it is a very important topic that needs to be taken seriously for students to understand. Afterwards I thought a lot about how to improve this lesson and after making all the revisions necessary I feel confident that I could teach this lesson again, and it would be much more effective.

Original Lesson Plan

REVISED Lesson Plan (Changes are highlighted)

This lesson is such an important discussion to start with your students to make them aware of how often, why and where discrimination and stereotyping happens. After looking closer at Blooms Taxonomy, incorporating the three main components of it will definitely strengthen the lesson. With the opening discussion in the beginning of my lesson, I wanted students to use their cognitive skills by thinking about what I was asking and also to expand on their knowledge. With the exit slip with the three questions provided, I am targeting the student’s attitudes about this topic, and hopefully they would show some personal growth of opinions in this area. With the actual paper plate activity, I am targeting the psychomotor aspect of Blooms Taxonomy. This was a hands-on activity where I was hoping students would get to understand what it was like to be stereotyped even if it hadn’t happened to them personally before. Ultimately I wanted them to see this topic from a different perspective and have their eyes opened to the raw reality of it.

I really wanted to incorporate examples of when I have experienced stereotyping to give the students real life examples of how often stereotyping works. As a part time waitress, I experience gender stereotyping quite frequently. I didn’t think this would be appropriate to share with my grades 4-7 students, but it was one of the only things I could think of where I have been obviously and outright stereotyped. I did mention to the students some common gender stereotypes such as “women are bad drivers,” “men are stronger”, or “man up”.

Afterwards my coop teacher shared her experiences of discrimination and stereotyping as an Aboriginal woman and I thought that was so powerful. The students really were attentive to this and were asking many questions about it such as “Why?” “Why would people think that by just looking at you?” etc. Treaty education is so important because if students are aware of what is happening in our province and country and the negative stereotypes that are sometimes attached to Aboriginal peoples then they can stop it from happening by not participating in it. Awareness is the most important part of treaty education. How I could start my lesson about this next time is by showing a video from people who are stereotyped, and then have a discussion about that afterwards. I didn’t include that in my revised version of my lesson because the school I am at is technology free, but in the future a video could be a really great way to introduce the topic, in a more diverse way.

I have learned a lot about differentiation in lesson plans from my classroom because it is grades 4 – 7. Since it is such a wide range of ages and grades, I have found it very challenging to meet the needs of all ages, grades and abilities. Especially challenging because we are only there once a week, so only now am I starting to really understand what every student’s particular needs. For example, this week I learned that one student has a very short memory and needs things written on the board to look back at. I could have easily adapted so many of my previous lessons for this but I didn’t realize this until this week. I also just started to notice that one student needs a lot of help with spelling and writing to the point of meltdowns because he gets so anxious to have to write anything out. Having him answer verbally is a much better way to hear his opinions, as well as having someone write out his answers as he speaks is also really helpful to him.

My target I created for myself in my professional development plan for this lesson was to create a good discussion before and after the activity. My specific instructions that I asked my coop teacher to look for were if I had good prompts that started discussions, as well as if the discussion stayed on topic. She recorded a lot of great data that was helpful for me to look back and reflect on that. She recorded all my questions I asked and what the students’ answers were which I had already forgot some of them so it’s great that I now have it written down. I also am able to look back and see where the students had lots of answers and the prompts or questions that they had a hard time with responding.

One thought on “Lesson Plan Revisions

  1. Lots of great revisions here, Tessa – when you are in pre-internship, try to get into the habit of going back and revising lessons – it can teach you a lot.
    I wonder how you could have incorporated treaty education in this lesson without your co-op’s first hand narrative – how could you tie into into the TELs (number 6 perhaps)?

Leave a Reply

